# REGISTER OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEMBERS 2024-2025

## **Ex officio Members**

Professor Daire Keogh	President – Chair
Professor Lisa Looney	Vice-President Academic Affairs (Registrar) – Deputy Chair
Aedín Whelan	Member of Academic Secretariat - Secretary
Professor Anne Sinnott	Deputy President
Vacant	Deputy Registrar
Professor John Doyle	Vice-President for Research
Ms Pauline Mooney	Academic Secretary

Executive Deans	
Professor Dominic Elliott	DCU Business School
Professor Anne Looney	DCU Institute of Education
Dr Jennifer Bruton	Faculty of Engineering and Computing
Professor Derek Hand	Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor Blánaid White	Faculty of Science and Health

Deans	
Professor Sharon O'Brien	Dean of Graduate Studies
Dr Monica Ward	Dean of Teaching and Learning

Chair of Examination Appeals Board	
Dr Brenda Daly	

DCU Chair of Digital Learning	
Professor Mark Brown	

### Representative of Faculty Administration

Dr Eleanor Healion

#### Students' Union Vice-President for Academic Life

Ms Aoife Butler

## **Members Selected from Directors of Unit**

Directors of Unit	
Mr Justin Doyle	Information Systems Services
Mr John McDonough	Library Services
Dr Rachel Keegan	Quality and Institutional Insights
Ms Phylomena McMorrow	Registry
Dr Claire Bohan	Student Support and Development

## **Members Selected from Faculties**

DCU Business School	
Professor Yseult Freeney	Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning
Professor Theo Lynn	Associate Dean for Research
Dr Gary Sinclair	Associate Dean for Internationalisation
Professor Regina Connolly	Head of Enterprise and Innovation Group
Professor PJ Byrne	Head of Financial and Operational Performance Group
Professor Brian Harney	Head of Work, Psychology and Strategy Group
Dr Eric Clinton	Enterprise and Innovation Group
Dr Joanne Lynch	Enterprise and Innovation Group
Dr Peter Robbins	Enterprise and Innovation Group
Ms Amanda Heeney	Financial and Operational Performance Group
TBC	Financial and Operational Performance Group
Dr Marta Rocchi	Financial and Operational Performance Group
Dr Marina Efthymiou	Work, Psychology and Strategy Group

Dr Xuchang Zheng	Work, Psychology and Strategy Group
Professor Edel Conway	Work, Psychology and Strategy Group, Director of Doctoral Studies

DCU Institute of Education	
Dr Miriam Ryan	Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning
Dr Maura Coulter	Associate Dean for Research
Dr Shivaun O'Brien	Associate Dean for Professional Development and Partnerships
TBC	Deputy Dean
Dr Una McCabe	Head of School of Arts Education and Movement
Dr Marie Flynn	Head of School of Human Development
Dr Aoife Brennan	Head of School of Inclusive and Special Education
Dr Geraldine French	Head of School of Language, Literacy and Early Childhood Ed.
Dr Martin Brown	Head of School of Policy and Practice
Dr Margaret Leahy	Head of School of STEM Education, Innovation and Global Studies
Dr Aisling Bourke	School of Human Development
Dr Majella McSharry	School of Human Development
Dr Damien Burke	School of Policy and Practice
Professor Catherine Furlong	School of Policy and Practice
Dr Yvonne Crotty	School of STEM Education, Innovation and Global Studies

Faculty of Engineering and Computing	
Dr Jennifer Foster	Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning
Professor Conor Brennan	Associate Dean for Research
Dr Andrew McCarren	Head of School of Computing
Dr Stephen Daniels	Head of School of Electronic Engineering
Dr Paul Young	Head of School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Dr Paul Clarke	School of Computing
Dr Jennifer Foster	School of Computing
Professor Cathal Gurrin	School of Computing
Dr Brendan Hayes	School of Electronic Engineering

Dr Ali Intizar	School of Electronic Engineering
Dr Conor McArdle	School of Electronic Engineering
	School of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering
Dr Owen Clarkin	School of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering
Dr Tamas Szecsi	School of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering
Professor Nicholas Dunne	Deputy Dean

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences	
Dr Ruth McManus	Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning / Education
Dr Gezim Visoka	Associate Dean for Research
Dr Padraig Murphy	Associate Dean for External Engagement
Dr Gearóldín Uilaighleis	Head of Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
Dr Agnès Maillot	Head of School of Applied Language and Intercultural Studies
Dr Mark O'Brien	Head of School of Communications
Dr Michael Hinds	Head of School of English
Dr William Murphy	Head of School of History and Geography
Dr Tanya Ní Mhuirthile	Head of School of Law and Government
Dr Patricia Flynn	Head of School of Theology, Philosophy and Music
Dr Jonathan Cherry	Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
Dr Fiona Gallagher	School of Applied Language and Intercultural Studies
Prof Eugene McNulty	School of English
Dr Michael Breen	School of Law and Government, Director of Teaching and Learning
Dr Peter Admirand	School of Theology Philosophy and Music

Faculty of Science and Health	
Professor Anne Matthews	Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning
Professor Timo Gans	Associate Dean for Research
Professor Christine Loscher	Head of School of Biotechnology
Dr Mary Pryce	Head of School of Chemical Sciences
Dr Brendan Egan	Head of School of Health and Human Performance
Professor Brien Nolan	Head of School of Mathematical Sciences
Professor Veronica Lambert	Head of School of Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health
Professor Eilish McLoughlin	Head of School of Physical Sciences
Professor Pamela Gallagher	Head of School of Psychology
Dr Michael Freeley	School of Biotechnology
Dr Nessan Kerrigan	School of Chemical Sciences
Dr Enda Whyte	School of Health and Human Performance
Dr Martin Venker	School of Mathematical Sciences
Ms Anne Kirwan	School of Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health
Dr Jean Paul Mosnier	School of Physical Sciences
Dr Lorraine Boran	School of Psychology

## **Elected Student Members**

Ms Sadhana R Sambandam	Dublin City University Business School
Ms Ella Ni Mhaille	DCU Institute of Education
Mr Robert Maloney	Faculty of Engineering and Computing
Ms Ash Maloney	Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Mr Alex Candon	Faculty of Science and Health
Vacant	Postgraduate Research Rep
Mr Josh King	Postgraduate Taught Rep